Search


print PDF
Email headers

Each received email has headers, which enable to know where it did go through. Each email software has an option to display the full headers. If you want to see what the headers look like, here is an example:

Return-Path: stephanieb@wwtx.com
X-Original-To: ofles@p.ovh.net
Delivered-To: ofles@p.ovh.net
Received: from mx1.ovh.net (b2.ovh.net 213.186.33.52)
(using TLSv1 with cipher EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA (168/168 bits))
(No client certificate requested)
by p.ovh.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0D8CE3AECA
for ; Sat, 13 Sep 2003 01:20:57 +0200 (CEST)
Received: (qmail 14921 invoked by uid 508); 12 Sep 2003 23:20:56 -0000
Delivered-To: odvh.net-ofles@odvh.net
Received: (qmail 14871 invoked by uid 505); 12 Sep 2003 23:20:54 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO wwx01.wwtx.com) (64.60.23.22)
by mx3.ovh.net with SMTP; 12 Sep 2003 23:20:54 -0000
Received: by WWTX01 with Internet Mail Service (5.5.2656.59)
id ; Fri, 12 Sep 2003 16:20:30 -0700
Message-ID:
From: Stephanie Carroll
To: "'ofles@odvh.net'"
Subject: Regarding ebay 3038396883
Date: Fri, 12 Sep 2003 16:20:29 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Internet Mail Service (5.5.2656.59)
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="_=_NextPart_001_01C37984.7488EB40"
X-Virus-Tag: NO
Status: RO
Content-Length: 2469
Lines: 63